The World Health Organization (WHO) advises all travelers to have their immunization schedule up to date before starting a trip. Whether it is for vacation or work, 4 to 6 weeks before the trip, consult your doctor about the recommendations for disease prevention according to your health condition, destination and the activities to be done during the trip.

    Make sure you are up to date with routine vaccines before each travel. These include against measles, las mumps and rubella  (MMR), against diphtheriatetanus and pertussis, against smallpox, against polio and the annual vaccine against flu.

    Vaccination against yellow fever can be required for two different goals:
    1. To protect travelers who can be exposed to yellow fever infection.
    2. To prevent the international spread of the illness, protecting countries from the risk of importing or spreading the yellow fever virus.

    Countries that require vaccination proof are those where the vector (mosquito) and possible non-human guests (primates) are present. Often it is required a vaccination proof for travelers who arrive from countries with yellow fever spread risk, and sometimes, for transit travelers in those countries.

    A yellow fever experts meeting organized in 2010 proposed that in less than 12 hours of transit in the airport the yellow fever risk is almost inexistent and, therefore, could not be necessary a vaccination proof. However, some countries require vaccination proof for travelers.. Country requirements are subject to changes at any time. The updates can be found at:

    The fact that a country does not require yellow fever vaccination does not imply that there is no risk of yellow fever transmission.

    Germany, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bermuda, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Chile, Cyprus, Colombia, Comoros, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, United Arab Emirates, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Guam, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Wake Island, Iceland, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Faroe Islands, Falkland Islands , British Virgin Islands, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, United Kingdom, Republic of South Sudan, Dominican Republic, American Samoa, San Marino, San Pedro and Miquelon, Serbia, Syria, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

    Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad*, Ivory Coast, Ethiopia*, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya*, Liberia, Mali*, Mauritania*, Niger*, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo*, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan*, Togo, Uganda.

    America :
    Argentina*, Bolivia*, Brazil*, Colombia*, Ecuador*, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama*, Paraguay, Peru*, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago*, Venezuela*.

    *These countries are not holoendemic (only a part of the country is at risk of contracting the yellow fever virus + transmission).

    Sierra Leone.


    Ivory Coast and Central African Republic.

    Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Gabon, French Guiana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Togo, Zaire.

    Afghanistan, Chad, Eritrea, Iran, Solomon Islands, Kazakhstan, Laos, Libya, Madagascar, Somalia, Swaziland.

    Equatorial Guinea, Iraq.

    Gambia, Indonesia, Malta, Sudan.

    Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, North Korea, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Suriname, East Timor, Tunisia, Uganda, Vietnam, Yemen, Djibouti.

    China, Senegal

    Anguilla, Saudi Arabia, Botswana, Jamaica, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago

    Bahrain, Bhutan, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Ghana, Lesotho, Lebanon, Sri Lanka, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

    Algeria, Australia *, Bahamas *, Barbados *, Brunei, Dominica, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Honduras *, Saint Martin Island, Maldives, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Malawi, French Polynesia, Samoa, Saint Bartholomew , São Tomé and Príncipe, Singapore, South Africa, Tanzania, Wallis and Fortuna.

    *Some exceptions:
    - Australia: excludes Galapagos Islands in Ecuador, the island of Tobago and limits only to the province of Misiones in Argentina.
    - Bahamas: excludes Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, but includes Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, and Tanzania.
    - Barbados: excludes Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago.
    - Honduras: excludes Panama.


  1. Calendario Nacional de Vacunación de Argentina. Fecha de último acceso: Febrero 2020

  2. World Health Organization. Yellow fever vaccination requirements and recommendation. Country list. Acceso 10 Febrero de 2020